Dreaming Of Cupcakes, One At A Time.

Caramel Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting

Have you ever had one of those weeks where someone mentions something you never ever think about and all of a sudden, that something is all you can think about for days on end?

Yeah, that happened to me a couple weeks ago.

Except that someone was a couple of radio DJs chatting on air and that something was cupcakes.

Now, to understand how bizarre this all was for me, there are two things you need to know.

For starters, I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes. Sure, they are petite and cute and all but aesthetics aside, I’ll take a slice of good cake over a cupcake any day.

Which brings me to point number two; I never, ever dream of making cupcakes.

But all it took was a couple mentions of cupcakes on air and all of a sudden, it became my short-term life mission to make myself some cupcakes and get them out of my system for once and for all. And that, my friends, was in a nutshell how I found myself elbow deep in flour and sugar, lining a much neglected cupcake pan, one Sunday afternoon.

Caramel Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting II

For all the talk I do about how I’m not really big on cupcakes, I have to admit that these salted caramel cupcakes had me swooning right from the start. I took one swipe of the salted caramel sauce as I was about to put it into the fridge to cool and seriously had to restrain myself from throwing out my cupcake plans and just lounging in front of the tv with the sauce and a spoon.

And the frosting- oh the silk meringue frosting- was just seriously amazing. Light, incredibly smooth with a delicious hint of salted caramel flavour, it was without a doubt the best frosting I’ve ever had or made- and so much less finicky that my old favourite silk meringue frosting.

So it pretty much is an understatement when I say that between their moist cake crumb, luscious salted caramel frosting and delicious salted caramel sauce drizzled over, these cupcakes had me thinking twice, between bites, about my stance on these adorable miniature cakes.

Now, I might have needed a little shove (or random talk) to get me to make these cupcakes but I certainly won’t be needing any more nudging to keep going on the cupcake wagon- especially if they involve copious amounts of my new favourite silk meringue frosting.

Caramel Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting [Cupcake recipe adapted from Carole Bloom's The Essential Baker, frosting recipe adapted from Jill O'Conner's Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey]

Note: I know this recipe runs kinda long but there really is nothing else much to it other than making the caramel sauce (and keeping a close eye on it). The only major changes I made to the recipes was to tweak the original caramel bourbon frosting, seriously reduce the amount of sugar in the cupcakes, added caramel sauce to them and reduced the amount of butter (by more than half!) in the frosting. The silk meringue frosting does require a little patience but it will be so worth it, I promise you (and if you don’t like it, please feel free to send it my way). Seriously, make this – you can thank me later.

Caramel Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Frosting III

Ingredients
Salted caramel sauce
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 1/2 tbsp water
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/4 tsp coarse salt

Cupcakes
130g salted butter, cubed
1/4 cup caster sugar
1/4 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
3 eggs, at room temperature
2 tbsp salted caramel sauce
1 1/4 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup milk

Salted caramel frosting
3 eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
150g salted butter, cubed
1/4 cup salted caramel sauce, cooled

  1. To make salted caramel sauce Combine the caster sugar and water in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook until the sugar dissolves and starts to change colour, gently swirling the pan occasionally. Cook the syrup until it turns a deep golden color, about 4 to 5 minutes. Remove the saucepan from heat and stir in the cream immediately. Return the pan to heat and cook the caramel, stirring constantly, till it thickens. Stir in the salt and let the caramel cool completely.
  2. To make cupcakes Preheat the oven at 175C. Line one cupcake pan with cupcake liners and set aside. Stir the flour, baking powder and salt together and set aside.
  3. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter until fluffy. Add the caster and brow sugar and cream together throughly, scrapping the sides of the bowl down occasionally. Add the eggs in, one at a time, until thoroughly combined.
  4. Add the salted caramel sauce to the mixture, beating well to combine. Alternating between the flour mixture and the milk, add the flour mixture and milk, mixing well each time.
  5. Divide the batter between the prepared cupcake cups. Bake the cupcakes in the centre of the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the middle of the cupcakes come out with moist crumbs clinging. Remove the cupcakes from the oven and cool completely before frosting.
  6. To make salted caramel frosting Combine the eggs and brown sugar in a large mixing bowl. Bring a saucepan of water to boil and using a handheld mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar together over the simmering water until the sugar is completely dissolved and mixture is thick and fluffy and very hot, about 3 to 4 minutes.
  7. Remove the bowl from heat and beat the eggs on medium high speed until they are tripled in volume, form soft peaks and the bottom of the bowl is completely cool to touch, about 10 minutes. Stir in the vanilla and salt.
  8. Add the butter cubes to the egg mixture gradually, beating well after each addition. When the frosting is smooth and glossy, fold in the salted caramel sauce.
  9. To assemble Using a large star tip, fill a large piping bag with the frosting and pipe the frosting on the cooled cupcakes. Drizzle with remaining salted caramel sauce.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. eastofedencook

     /  June 12, 2012

    I always say I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes but find myself seduced by their adorable cuteness! Just can’t help it! And they are practical, they bake and cool quickly and are easy to transport. And what a great way to indulge in salted caramel! A most delightful cupcake!

    Reply
  2. If there’s one thing I love, it’s salty caramel! What a winner:)

    Reply
  3. Ooh…the salted caramel cupcake really made me drool! I’m a big fan of frosted cupcakes even though I don’t bake them often. Your cupcake really reminded me of the one my niece baked sometime ago. It was really yummy. I must give this a try soon!

    Reply
  4. I would like to be able to thank you… but… I guess I should get the hand mixer first!?

    Reply
  5. These cupcakes look perfect babe! (: mmm… salted caramel! One of my favourite flavours of all time! hehe I’ve done the meringue frosting once before and you’re so right! SO worth it! hehe Makes all the difference! Gonna bookmark this recipe for sure! hehe thanks for sharing dearie!

    Reply
    • I know exactly where you’re coming from, eastofedencook- I love how quick it is to whip up a batch of cupcakes! I’m most definitely hooked on making them now!

      Thanks, The Wanderlust Gene! It is hard to go wrong with salted caramel eh?

      Hey Jane! You definitely have to give this a go then- the salted caramel sauce and frosting is seriously to die for!

      Haha! I guess you should, cookie!

      Aw thanks, Lianne! That frosting is so good right? I swear I could polish off a bowl of it all by myself if left unattended! :lol:

    • haha I might too actually! :P can’t wait to try this! hehe havent baked in a while!

  6. These cupcakes are so gorgeous. Caramel is my weakness, too.

    Reply
  7. liz

     /  June 23, 2012

    that’s recipe number 3247 on my ‘to make’ list. this and your birthday cake are what I’ll be dreaming of for the next couple of months. Unless you decide to make a few other things that I have to try making as well.
    Drool-worthy as always, laur. xx

    Reply
    • Hey sweetie, haha! I would be happy to whip you up a batch of these and anything else you want off this site until you get your oven issues sorted out! x

  8. liz

     /  June 24, 2012

    Laur, you probably shouldn’t have said that hon. I’m already planning on inviting myself over your pizza and much much more! xx

    Reply
  9. I made cupcakes for one of my kid’s birthdays this year. I don’t usually like them but I used Orangette’s glaze recipe instead of frosting and that made all the difference. Salted caramel is such a great combination.

    Reply
  1. Salted Caramel Cupcakes… « the cardigan tales
  2. Salted Caramel Cupcakes… | The Cardigan Tales

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

