To New Beginnings.

2012 - In the Kitchen!

Wow.

Can you believe it’s 2013 already?

2012 was, for me, a year of challenges and new beginnings.

I welcomed the addition of the most adorable red toy poodle, Poppy, into our home, attended new fantastic food events (yes, Savour, I’m talking about you), spent a good part of the year working my butt off almost round the clock. Then I made one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever made in my life- to take a six months sabbatical leave from work – and spent the last two months working out a lot and traveling to both new and old favourite places; namely, Japan, New Zealand, Bali and Bangkok.

Culinary-wise, this year was the year I really found my feet in the kitchen.

While I’ve always loved being in the kitchen and pottering around the stove and oven, I found myself cooking on the fly, experimenting with what I thought I knew and learning to trust my culinary instincts a whole lot more.

While I woefully neglected this site, I cooked up a storm in the kitchen, growing and honing my culinary knowledge. I taught myself to make pasta from scratch (with an old fashioned pasta roller the boyfriend gifted me for my birthday!), filleted a sea bass, experimented with a lot of Chinese cooking and had friends over for dinner parties more often than usual.

It seriously was a great year, all in all, and one I have so much to be thankful for.

In this new year, I have so much I have lined up, both in the kitchen and out, to look forward to and seriously can’t wait to see what the new year has in store.

I certainly do hope to be posting here a little more regularly, perhaps changing my post layout slightly so I spend less time behind the camera and more time enjoying my food, as I have become accustomed to doing in the last couple of months.

Until then, thank you so much for dropping by in the last year. I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and hope the new year brings you much love, laugher and adventure!

xx

Laureen

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Happy new year babe! (: Time really flies aye? Here’s wishing you a year ahead with lots of happiness, good health, yummy food and happy bellies! xx

    Reply
  2. 2012 was such a wonderful year for you! You did so much and most importantly, did what you wanted to do. I admire that!
    Happy new year and wishing you all the success and luck in the world.

    Reply
  3. I am glad to hear you had such a fantastic 2012, it certainly sounds exciting. I do look forward to more posts here! Happy New Year!!

    Reply
  4. To new beginnings! Looking forward to seeing more of you around here! Happy New Year Laureen!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Lianne! It’s seriously scary how quickly time flies but here’s to a year of delicious food and great company indeed!

      Hi Anita! Aw, thank you! It wasn’t a particularly easy year but I’m so grateful everything worked out in the end. Happy new year to you too! I hope you and your little family have a fantastic year ahead!

      Happy new year, Rhonda! Thanks, I already have a whole list of stuff I can’t wait to get round to making!

      Thanks, Amanda! A very happy new year to you too!

  5. Happy new year Laureen! I sure miss seeing your updates. However, it was good to know that you had a wonderful year! Have a great year ahead too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

