One Step Back, Two Steps Forward.

Dark Chocolate Macarons

It’s honestly not very often that I find myself excited over the release of a new book- much preferring to wait until the Amazon community has cast its verdict before hitting the “Proceed to checkout” button- especially when it was yet another book about the elusive macarons.

But a couple boxes of macarons (the Hilton Singapore makes the most delicious lemon and black sesame macarons by the way!) and one strong affirmation by David Lebovitz later, all of a sudden, I was back on Amazon, arranging for Mad About Macarons to make its merry way to my arms a mere ten days after its release.

I was so ready to get back into the ever challenging macaron-making game.

This book, to be honest, sat by my bedside a lot longer than it should have. But who could blame me, really?

Filled with pictures of perfect macarons of every filling imaginable and tons of tips on how to get said perfect macarons, I was just happy to read the book from cover to cover every night, dreaming of what was to come in my kitchen.

Dark Chocolate Macarons II

Thankfully though, the book’s day in the kitchen finally did arrive and boy did the book deliver on its promise on “perfect macarons every single time”.

For (almost) perfect macarons, I certainly got.

The success of these macarons I have to admit, sweetened by a good four years hiatus, had me beaming from ear to ear right from the second I peered into the oven and saw those gorgeous feet formed.

Crisp chocolate shells with a slightly chewy centre and filled with a lusciously smooth dark chocolate ganache with a hint of coffee undertones, these macarons were so incredibly good- and quite unfortunately for me, just as easy to polish off as they were to make.

So while these macarons are long gone now, with a tw0-for-two perfect record with this book, you can certainly bet this is just the first of many batches of macarons you’ll be seeing from me.

Dark Chocolate Macarons [adapted slightly from Jill Colonna's Mad About Macarons]
By kind permission of Waverley Books. Copyright Jill Colonna and Waverley Books, all rights reserved.

Note: This recipe is seriously fool proof as it is although note to self- fold batter a little more next time to get the shells a little flatter. Oh, and if you wanna make these, omit the cocoa powder, add a little red colouring and fill with whipped cream and sliced strawberries. Seriously good either way.

Dark Chocolate Macarons III

Ingredients
Macaron shells
150g egg whites, at room temperature
100g caster sugar
180g ground almonds
200g icing sugar
10g cocoa powder

Chocolate ganache
200g dark chocolate
1 tsp instant coffee powder
190g pouring cream
50g icing sugar
50g unsalted butter

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C. Line two baking trays with baking paper and set aside.
  2. To make macaron shells Using an electric mixer, whisk the egg whites, adding the caster sugar gradually, until firm peaks form.
  3. Sift the ground almonds, cocoa powder and icing sugar into a large bowl. Stir the egg whites into the almond mixture, mixing well.
  4. Using a plastic scraper, press the mixture down well to press any air out of the whites for no more then 5 minutes until a smooth mixture forms. You should get a soft mixture that forms a ribbon as the mixture falls off the plastic scraper.
  5. Transfer the mixture to a piping pan fitted with a 1cm round piping tip and pipe the shells out on the prepared trays.
  6. Leave the batter out on the countertop for 30 minutes to set, which will help them form feet. They are ready to be baked when they feel hard to touch.
  7. Bake the macaron shells in the middle of the oven for about 10 minutes or until the shells don’t feel wobbly when touch.
  8. To make chocolate ganache Combine the chocolate and coffee powder in a medium bowl. Heat the cream until almost boiling and pour over the chocolate mixture. Leave the mixture to stand for a couple of minutes before stirring until a smooth mixture forms.
  9. Add the icing sugar and butter to the chocolate mixture and whisk until combined and smooth.
  10. When the ganache has cooled slightly, transfer the ganache into a piping bag fitted with a round tip. Arrange the macarons shells in pairs and pipe the filling onto one side of the shell before sandwiching them. Makes about 60 filled macarons
Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. The photographs are fantastic. Looks like a great book to have but my morbid fear of making macaroons might just be the spoil sport to ever let me get into that uncharted territory.

    Reply
  2. I hope this IS the first of many batches of macaroons we’ll be seeing from you! Yum…crunchy on the outside and marshmallowy and chewy in the inside…and to make things 100 times better there’s chocolate ganache in between..Do you have any flavors in mind for the next macaroon recipe?

    Reply
  3. Lovely lovely macarons you have made! I will probably go mad if I were successful in making them! Sad to say, I have yet to taste a single macaron, but your recipe seems easy enough for me to try it, at least it doesn’t call for a thermometer or cooking syrup over a stove ;)

    Reply
  4. aparnanairphotography

     /  October 11, 2011

    As always, these look phenomenal. Strong work!

    Reply
    • Aw thank you, Anita! It really is such a fantastic book- definitely worth taking a look at if you wanna try your hand at making these petite finicky babies :)

      Hi sweetlab :) Nothing makes everything so much better like chocolate ganache eh? Anyway I’m thinking of doing salted caramel or black sesame next- can never get enough of those two flavours! :D

      Hey HHB! Heh I believe you’re refering to the Italian method with the cooking of syrup over the stove. That method supposedly yields more consistent results with macarons but the French method is definitely much easier and has given me much higher feet than I’ve ever gotten with the Italian method. So in short, give this a shot; if I can make them, so can you :)

      Thanks, aparna- I couldn’t be more thrilled with them :)

  5. Great, now I’m hungry. Thanks.

    Reply
  6. they look SO GOOD babe! (: Pretty feet!

    Reply
  7. Your macarons turned out sooo beautiful!

    Reply
  8. ah! just delicious! tried it once and have to admit that yours look a way better! maybe should i give it another try!

    Reply
  9. Those macaroons are perfect!

    Reply
    • Aw, I’m sorry, Rai. Would send you some if I could to make up for it ;)

      Thanks, lianne! Your recent macaron batches have certainly had a hand in inspiring me to make some :)

      Aw thanks, kat!

      Hi Ann! Thank you- you definitely should give them a shot, it’s seriously fool proof! :)

      Thanks, rsmacaalay! They certainly not quite perfect, if you ask me, but I’m pretty happy with them :D

  10. These look amazing! I’ve been meaning to try to make macarons, but I’m a little apprehensive.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Adrienne! I completely understand your apprehension but give this recipe a shot; it worked so well for me. Feel free to drop me an email if you need more assurance or just want me to let me know how it went :)

  11. When I read your post I was inspired to try my hand at these macarons! They were completely new to me (the only version I was familiar with is the coconut ones that aren’t anything like these gorgeous, elegant confections). The recipe was fun to make, and I’d like to try them again to see if I can finesse them. A bit of a confession … I didn’t make a filling as I made them one evening and time was running out. We just ate the pillowy little cookies by themselves, and quite enjoyed them. I’ve resolved to learn more about macarons, and to try the whole recipe (filling and all) next time. I enjoy following your blog; thank you for sharing! Mar

    Reply
    • Hi Mar! I’m so glad you gave this a shot and they worked out for you :) You’re most welcome. And please, try them with the filling next time- they’re seriously good! :D

  12. Chanced upon your blog and love it. these macaroons look great! I never have much success with them but your recipe seem easy enough to follow :)

    Reply
    • Apologies for the late reply, Tricia- I must have missed your comment somehow. Thanks for the kind words! I certainly hope you give this macaroni recipe a shot- it worked out really well for me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

