Taking A Leap.

Strawberry Mascarpone Tart

Some weeks ago, I was having lunch when I spied miniature strawberry tarts sitting in the pastry case.

Now, I’m usually not big on pastries (ironically I know, given that the first recipe I ever posted on this site was a tart) and skip dessert straight after lunch. But that day, for some reason, I broke both rules, went against my instincts and ordered a tart. And then proceeded to devour it all in one sitting.

And that, my friends, was what kick started Operation Strawberry Tart (i.e a frantic search through all my cookbooks in search of that one recipe that would recreate that insanely good tart I had).

Strawberry Mascarpone Tart II

Lucky for me, I didn’t have to look far, chancing upon a recipe for raspberry honey-cream tartlets in a woefully neglected cookbook.

And boy did I really hit jackpot with that recipe.

A crisp buttery crust filled with creamy light mascarpone and topped with sweet, macerated strawberries, this tart was just a perfect balance of texture and flavours. And, dare I say it,  even better than the original tart that sparked my whole craze with strawberry tarts.

I might not have been a pastry fan before Operation Strawberry Tart but I’ve certainly been reformed and am all ready to make up for lost time, especially if it means starting it right with this tart all over again.

Strawberry Mascarpone Tart [adapted from Emily Luchetti's A Passion for Desserts]

Note: This is some seriously amazing dessert, I tell you. But whatever you do, don’t skip macerating the strawberries; it really brings out the flavour and sweetness of the strawberries. It has changed my life. Seriously.

Strawberry Mascarpone Tart III

Ingredients
Tart dough
1 1/2 cups plain flour
2 tbsp vanilla sugar
Pinch of salt
150g cold unsalted butter, cubed
2 tbsp heavy cream
1 egg

Filling
250g mascarpone
1 tbsp runny honey
Pinch of salt
2 tsp vanilla sugar
2 tbsp heavy cream

Topping
2 cups strawberries, hulls removed and halved lengthwise
2 tbsp vanilla sugar

  1. To make tart shell In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar and salt together. Rub the butter cubes in until a coarse mixture forms. Whisk the cream and egg together lightly. Stir the cream mixture into the flour mixture until a loose dough forms. Shape the dough into a disk, wrap it in clingwrap and chill for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll the dough out into a 12-inch dish and gently place the dough over a 9-inch tart pan. Cut off any extra dough and chill for at least 30 minutes.
  3. To make the topping Mix the strawberries and vanilla sugar together in a bowl and let it macerates in the fridge while the dough chills.
  4. Preheat the oven to 175C. Prick the base of the tart shell lightly with a fork, line the tart shell with baking paper and fill with dried rice or beans. Bake for about 20 minutes, until the crust is golden brown. Remove the baking paper and dried rice or beans and bake for 10 minutes until the bottom of the crust is golden brown.
  5. To make the filling Whisk the mascarpone, honey, salt, vanilla sugar and heavy cream together until a smooth mixture forms.
  6. Spoon the mascarpone mixture into the cooled tart shell, spreading it evenly over the tart base. Place the macerated strawberries on top of the filled tart and drizzle a little of the sauce around the strawberries. Serves 8
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. This tart looks lovely and delicious – a great goodbye-to-summer dessert!

    Reply
  2. It’s always nice to find a recipe in a cookbook you already own. Not that I don’t need an excuse to go buy another one; I’ll definitely check out the book from which this recipe comes.

    Lovely photos, I only wish it were still strawberry season here. Might have to adapt the fruit to something more seasonal to where I am, quinces maybe? Hmmm :)

    Reply
  3. Looks so beautiful and elegant. I am SERIOUSLY going to try this Laureen.
    Do you recommend buying the book?

    Reply
  4. That tart is picture perfect, love the colors

    Reply
  5. this tart is beautiful!! I bought a small tart pan last year and haven’t made a single pastry in it, because pastry made from scratch scares the heck out of me. mmm.. but mascarpone and macerated fruit sounds heavenly.

    Reply
  6. Ooh now that you’ve mentioned it, it sure is, onceuponarecipe! Except it would be more like goodbye-to-berry-season in my part of the world coz we practically have summer all year round! :lol:

    Hi k.m! It really is always such a wonderful surprise to find a gem of a recipe in my collect of cookbooks, especially since I’m trying to cut down on buying them :) Quinces, figs or even peaches I imagine would be fantastic with this!

    Hey Anita, this was actually the first recipe I’ve made out of the book so I can’t say much about how well the recipes work. But I do love that the book is organized by seasons and hence has a good mixture of comforting and light desserts. Definitely worth checking out for sure, especially if this tart is anything to go by :D

    Thank you, rsmacaalay! :)

    Hi K! Thank you :) I know exactly how you feel but believe me, pastry is so easy once you’ve worked with it a couple of times. Give it a shot- it’ll be worth it, I promise.

    Reply
  7. This is BEAUTIFUL. I’m on the hunt for a tart pan, I’ve never made one and the search is proving difficult.

    Reply
  8. happygrub

     /  October 5, 2011

    The cream looks so simple to make! I havent made a tart in ages..somehow tart base, filling plus fruit seems like a multicomponnt difficult dessert to me! But with the super simple filling and topping in this recipe, I’m definitely bookmarking this!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Bee! I hope you find that tart pan soon and get on your way to making tons of pies and tarts :)

      Hey Farhan :) The filling really is as divine as it is simple- truly what makes this tart so incredibly delicious, if you ask me.

  9. I must say I’m the complete opposite when it comes to pastries. Can never resist one! So you can only imagine how much I wna lick the screen now.

    Reply
    • Hey Zhul :) Then you seriously have to make this tart. It will be much tastier than the screen for sure :lol:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

