Cookies to Celebrate.

$250 Cookies

Like most people who love to cook and bake, the kitchen is my safe haven- the one place I go to after a long, hard day and just feel like everything can and will be okay.

It’s the same place I go to when I’m stressed out and need to clear my head (okay fine, procrastinate), to celebrate getting a job, a best friend’s return home, birthdays or even for no particular reason at all.

So it seemed only right when my darling boyfriend got a promotion at work that I made him something to celebrate.

$250 Cookies II

Deciding what to make him was pretty much a no brainer (the boy love his cookies), making them right (crunchy, not too crumbly or chocolatey ala Famous Amos) was slightly tricker.

Until I came across the famed $250.00 cookie recipe* in Maida Heatter’s cookie book.

A chocolate chip cookie with a slight twist in the form of chocolate flakes and ground oatmeal? It sounded perfect for the occasion- and utterly delicious to boot.

$250 Cookies III

As it turns out, I hit the nail on the head with these cookies.

The cookies were crunchy, nutty- thanks to the addition of the oatmeal and extra baking time- the perfect shade of golden brown and incredibly addictive and decadent, even to a chewy cookie lover like myself.

So as much as these cookies were a celebration to mark a milestone in the boyfriend’s career, any cookie that can make both the boyfriend and I happy is a true winner in its own right, if you ask me.

The $250.00 Cookie [adapted from Maida Heatter's Brand-New Book of Great Cookies]

$250 Cookies IV

Ingredients
1 cup sifted plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
60g dark chocolate, finely chopped
120g unsalted butter
1/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg, at room temperature
180g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

  1. Preheat oven to 175C. Line two baking sheets with aluminum foil and set aside.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Using a food processor, pulse the oats and dark chocolate together until almost ground and set aside.
  4. Beat the butter with an electric mixer until soft and fluffy. Add the sugars and vanilla and beat until combined. Add the egg and beat well. Add the flour and oat mixtures and fold in until just incorporated. Mix the chopped dark chocolate in.
  5. Using two teaspoons, spoon teaspoonful of the dough on the prepared baking sheets, two inches apart.
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes or till crisp to the touch and golden brown. Makes about 60 small cookies

* The $250 cookie recipe resolves from a tale of a lady who bought the recipe from a cafe for what she thought was two dollar and fifty cents, only to be charged for two hundred and fifty dollars for it. Enraged by it, she vowed to get even by spreading the recipe around, or so the story goes.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. These cookies sound phenomenal! They’re definitely most apt for a celebration :) Btw, is old-fashioned oats the same as rolled oats? (Can you tell I’m giving this a go? ~hehe!)

    Reply
  2. Those cookies look wonderful. Its like and cross between an Anzac and Oatmeal cookie

    Reply
  3. Congrats on your bf’s promotion! You are such a sweet gf :) If my husband ever gets a promotion, I will only think of asking a treat from him, I will never thought of baking something for him ;) Your cookies look so good!! I don’t have to wait for any occasion before making these…all I need to do is go borrow a food processor.

    Reply
  4. Hi Laureen,
    Cookies to celebrate? How appropriate it can be! I think baking cookies is the easiest and best way to satisfied. I reward my children with cookies too! :) Congrats to your boyfriend! What a lucky man he is!

    Reply
    • Hi Zhul :) They certainly were perfect for the celebration and it’s a good thing the dough makes plenty of cookies – I almost didn’t have enough to give away after my “taste test” :lol: Anyway yeap, they are the same. Enjoy them!

      Hey rsmacaalay! You’re so right- they’ve certainly got the best of Anzac and oatmeal cookies :)

      Thanks, HHB! These cookies will certainly be worth the trouble of borrowing a food processor. And believe me, I completely intend on collecting that treat from him :lol:

      Aw thanks, Jane! Can never go wrong with cookies regardless of how big a kid you are (or aren’t), if you ask me ;)

  5. merci pour cette post

    Reply
  6. Hello! This is my first time popping by, having got here from another blog and I’ve been hooked – have been reading your entries trailing back to when you were still in Melbourne :p And your cookies look absolutely yum! I made them myself a while ago, a huge double batch, and I’m STILL eating them today :D

    Reply
  7. these look SO YUMMOS babe!!! (: So gonna try the recipe!

    Reply
    • You’re most welcome, recette tiramisu!

      Hello Janine :) Welcome! And good to know these cookies keep so well- the batch I made disappeared in like two days :lol:

      Thanks, Lianne! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

