Dreaming In Shades of Green and White.

Green Tea & White Chocolate Cheesecake

It’s not quite usual that I make two cakes in the span of a month- what more a week- but it’s also not every month that two of my dearest friends have birthdays just a day apart.

With this particular birthday cake though, there was no humming and hawwing over what kind of cake the birthday girl (incidentally the same darling I ran amok in Italy with earlier this year) was gonna get, given how much she adores green tea and cheesecake.

As it turns out, deciding what flavour the cake was gonna be was the easy part. What I didn’t really anticipate however was how much trouble I was gonna have actually making the cake.

You see, as it also turns out, white chocolate and I have a complicated past- complicated in that white chocolate has never melted the way I’ve wanted to. And really, why should this time- just because I was making a birthday cake- be any different?

So yes, my white chocolate seized on me. Twice. And at nine at night, patience was something I clearly didn’t have an abundance of. So I did what I do best- I winged it. I added some cream to the seized white chocolate, warmed it all up a little, stirred and viola- at long last and a little improvisation, I got my damned white chocolate melted.

Green Tea & White Chocolate Cheesecake II

Luckily for me, the cake turned out pretty damned good, even if I do say so myself. Despite not being a fan of cheesecake, this had me inwardly swooning at the modest slices we all had after dinner. (Okay, inwardly swooning is a little of an understatement. The unthinkable actually happened with this cheesecake- I was actually dreaming about this cake for days after.)

So now with cheesecake off the list, I need to (quite happily) start dreaming up of all the ways I can incorporate green tea powder into baked goods before her next birthday!

Green Tea & White Chocolate Cheesecake [loosely adapted from Carole Bloom's The Essential Baker]

Green Tea & White Chocolate Cheesecake III

Ingredients
Base
10 digestives biscuits
50g butter, softened

Batter
500g cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup caster sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
250g white chocolate, melted and cooled
3 tsp green tea powder, plus more for dusting

  1. Line the base of a 6″ round springform pan with aluminum foil. Grease the base and inner sides of the pan with softened butter. Wrap the outside of the cake pan in aluminum foil and set aside.
  2. To make the base Place the digestive biscuits and butter in a food processor. Pulse until the crumbs resemble coarse, damp sand- they should hold together when pressed together loosely. Add more butter, if necessary.
  3. Pour the crumbs into the prepared cake pan and press the crumbs evenly into the base of the pan. Refrigerate the base while you get on with the batter.
  4. Preheat the oven to 160C. Set a kettle of water to boil.
  5. To make the batter Beat the cream cheese and caster sugar together until smooth. Add the eggs in, one at a time, beating until smooth. Add the cooled melted white chocolate and green tea powder. Stir till smooth.
  6. Pour the batter into the cake pan over the base. Place the cake pan into a larger pan. Pour the boiling water into the larger pan, until the water level reaches half the height of the cake pan.
  7. Bake the cake for about 40 to 45 minutes or until the sides are set but the center still slightly jiggly.
  8. Cool the cake completely before refrigerating overnight. Unmould the cake when completely chilled and dust the top of the cake with green tea powder before serving. Serves 6

 

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Hi This cheesecake looks yummy. I d like to try it since I just have some green tea powder i wish to use. If you ant to try a cake I made this oe and came good. http://maltesebakes.blogspot.com/2009/09/my-first-creen-tea-cake.html
    if you want a white chocolate ganache recipe tell and I ll send you mine. I ve never had any problems and usually I pair it with this cake

    Reply
  2. Hehe so you don’t normally do desserts too?? I’ve just gone through that phase.. I normally do savoury more than desserts but recently made 3 desserts in one weekend! Hehehehee..

    With that said, what a great job you’ve done here on your cheesecake! Looks incredibly yummy and I bet the flavors were amazing.

    Reply
  3. I’m so happy that you experimented with the cake when it wasn’t working the way you wanted it to. I’m also happy that it turned out well. It looks really really creamy and delicious and I can see why it would make you dream about it for days after.

    Reply
  4. I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake myself, but I bet I would like this one (love all things green tea, and its slight bitterness would probably help with the richness of cheesecake). It’s beautiful :) Lucky friend!

    Reply
    • Hi Snooky doodle. Thanks! Your version sounds delicious- thanks for sharing the recipe!

      Hey Kimba :) Three desserts in one weekend? Wow! Anyway I do make desserts quite a bit but cakes are usually reserved for special occasions like birthdays. Can’t wait to check out the rest of your blog by the way!

      Thanks, Andrea :D I wing it so much with baking recipes I mostly am surprised they actually turn out okay :)

      Oh finally, tofugirl- someone who shares my disdain for cheesecakes. I was beginning to think I was the only one who didn’t like it :D

  5. theperfectcircle

     /  November 9, 2010

    thanks darling, it was really tasty!!! n i had to run alot that particular week! not complaining though

    Reply
  6. I love the green tea powder on top . Wow you are a cake run! Good for you and me since I love cake.

    Reply
  7. The cake looks perfect to me! By the way, if you want white chocolate that melts smooth every time – try Valrhona’s white chocolate- they are spectacular!

    Reply
  8. Wow, despite your initial problems with the white chocolate, it looks fabulous.

    I have green tea powder with the intention of using it in recipes but never seem to get around to it, thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
    • I sure am, Naomi but that will hopefully be the last birthday birthday cake I’ll be making for a while :)

      Thanks, Shirley! And I’ll definitely have to try Valrhona’s white chocolate- I always just get the milk or dark. Thanks for sharing that tip :D

      Aw thank you, Acquired- I certainly was relieved it all worked out fine :) And you’re most welcome :D

  9. Astonishing look – too bad I don’t like white chocolate or this could be my birthday cake this year.

    Reply
  10. I am completely, insanely 150% obsessed with matcha. my boyfriend is sick of matcha… but he likes cheesecake!! You’ve given me an excuse to make something matcha again :D

    Reply
  11. Oh what a delicious combi of flavs and colors galore!!
    love the contrasting creaminess to the bright green tea powder!

    Reply
  12. The first picture is STUNNING! Love the flavour combo.

    Reply
  13. Hello Laureen (I think I spelled it right :) ). I love that you bake cakes from scratch for birthdays, I do the exact same thing myself. I love your previous cake as well as this green tea cheesecake. Nice to have found your blog.
    Magda

    Reply
    • Thanks, sd! I get you about white chocolate- my love for this cake completely took me by surprise :)

      Hi catty. This cake does sound like the perfect compromise for you two- cheesecake for your boyfriend and matcha for you :lol:

      Thanks, Summer! :)

      Hey Ellie. Thanks! It’s always hard to go wrong with matcha :)

      Hi Magda. Aw, thank you for your really sweet comments. I’m off to check out the cakes on your site- can’t wait! :D

  14. I’ve never had green tea in dessert form. Looks good.

    White chocolate was my nemesis for years. I’ve conquered. You have to go low and very slow. Also, most white chocolate chips are not true white chocolate, meaning they do not have a high cocoa butter content.
    ~ingrid

    Reply
    • Hi Ingrid! Thanks, and thanks for the tip- patience is one virtue I so do not have so I’ll definitely have to work on the slow and low :D

  15. Hi! this looks amazing! Just a question, am i supposed to bake the cake with the pan in the water in the oven? Is the cake pan with the larger pan and water supposed to be baked together in the oven? Thanks!

    Reply
    • Hi PL! Yeap, the cake pan is to be set in a water bath and put into the oven as it is. It helps to bake the cheesecake more gentler and reduces the chances of the cheesecake cracking as it bakes. I hope that helps! Please feel free to drop me a message either here or via email any time :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

