An Ode to Birthdays.

Buckwheat and Cacoa Nibs Butter Cookies

If things had gone according to the plans I had for my birthday, you would be seeing pictures of a lemon and poppyseed cake frosted with almond cream (doesn’t it sound so incredibly delicious?).

Unfortunately for me, things didn’t just not go according to plan- they went most decidedly off the tracks and spiraled completely out of control.

Essentially, not only did I end up having to go to work both on the day before my birthday and my birthday itself, I went into the office mid morning of my birthday and didn’t emerge until the following morning.

What’s that they say about the best laid plans again?

Buckwheat and Cacoa Nibs Butter Cookies III

After getting some much needed sleep and polishing off the last of my chocolate birthday cakes, I figured it was about time I stop wallowing in self pity about missing out on my birthday and get back into the kitchen for some culinary therapy- in the form of some gorgeous, petite buckwheat and cacao nibs butter cookies.

Cacoa Nibs

I didn’t quite know what to expect from these cookies as I’ve never done anything with buckwheat flour or cacao nibs (both of which I had on hand thanks to my expensive but well cultivated habit of buying anything remotely exotic whenever I come across it- and to think I wonder how all my money gets spent).

Buckwheat and Cacoa Nibs Butter Cookies IV

As it turns out, buckwheat and cacao nibs make for some really good cookies. The combination of the nutty, slightly grainy texture of the buckwheat and the toasty, bittersweet flavour of the cacao nibs gives this delicious cookies a flavour unlike any other cookie I’ve ever had, one I can’t put my finger on (or get out of my head for that matter). But one thing’s for sure- this cookie has firmly established itself as my favourite sophisticated, non “chocolate chip cookie” cookie.

Different as this was from the birthday cake I had planned out, these delicious cookies sure held their own as a birthday treat and ones I’ll definitely be making again and again, birthdays or no birthdays.

Buckwheat and Cacao Nibs Butter Cookies [adapted from Alice Medrich's Pure Dessert]

Buckwheat and Cacoa Nibs Butter Cookies IV

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups plain flour
3/4 cups buckwheat flour
200g salted butter, softened
2/3 cups caster sugar
1/3 cups cacao nibs
2 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Whisk the plain flour and buckwheat flour together in a large bowl. Set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until smooth. Add the cacao nibs and vanilla, mixing well. Fold the flour mixture in, in two batches.
  3. Turn the dough out onto a piece of baking paper, kneading the dough a little until it comes together. Roll the dough out about about 1/4 inch thick, cover with another piece of baking paper and refrigerate it for at least half an hour.
  4. Preheat the oven at 175C. Line 2 baking trays with baking paper and set them aside.
  5. Using 1 1/2 inch cookie cutters, cut the shapes out of the dough and place them on the prepared baking trays about 1 inch apart. Bake the cookies for about 12 to 15 minutes or until slightly firm to touch. Remove from oven and let the cookies cool completely on the trays. Makes about 50 small cookies
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. I found your blog through Kitchen Simplicity – I love your photographic style! It’s quite different to a lot of food bloggers – a bit darker and moodier.

    Reply
    • Hi Hilary. Thank you :) I quite like the dark undertones although FoodGawker seems to hate it :lol: Thanks for dropping by :)

  2. Lovely! Cocoa nibs really have that intense yet sophisticated taste to them. Would love to try this recipe too!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Alison. They do, don’t they? I’m not sure if I really appreciate them straight up but I would love to play around more with them :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

