Cookie Love.

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recently, I have somewhat earned myself a reputation of being a bit of a cookie monster at work. Something, they say, about a tinful of cookies disappearing an alarming rate.

Well, if you ask me, it’s not entirely true.

I have had some help in a form of a colleague who eats maybe one cookie to every four I have. But for most of it, I can’t help it the cookie tin calls my name every time I walk past it with a steaming cup of freshly brewed coffee. Before I know it, the tin goes back to our little pantry a lot lighter than when I walked away with it.

What can I say? I do love my cookies.

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies II

If there’s one thing that could make me love cookies more than I already do, it’s a chewy cookie with a slight crunch round the edges- which was exactly what I got with these moreish espresso chocolate chip cookies I made because, um one can never eat too many cookies.

With a generous dose of dark chocolate chips and just a hint of espresso paring off perfectly with the shot of caramelized sweetness that comes through with every bite, these made the perfect accompaniment to my morning cup of unadulterated liquid gold.

Ah, between these and my gorgeous new Nespresso machine, I’m pretty sure even if I don’t make it through my next three weeks of study leave and the terrifying, looming exam, I’ll die a happy girl.

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies [adapted from Dorie Greenspan's Baking From My Home to Yours]

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies III

Ingredients
2 cups plain flour
1 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking soda
250g butter, chopped
3/4 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tbsp instant espresso powder
2 eggs, at room temperature
2 cups chocolate chips

  1. Sift the flour, salt and baking soda into a medium bowl and set it aside. Line two baking trays with baking paper and set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugars till creamy and well combined. Add the vanilla extract and espresso powder in, stirring well. Beat the eggs in, one at a time, until the mixture comes together.
  3. Stir the flour mixture in and fold the chocolate chips in until well combined.
  4. Drop tablespoonfuls of the dough onto the prepared trays and place the trays in the freezer for at least twenty minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven at 175C. Bake the cookies, one tray at a time, in the middle of the oven for about 12 to 14 minutes, until the edges are golden brown. Remove the tray from the oven and let the cookies cool for about ten minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool completely. Makes about 30 cookies
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Chewy in the middle with crisp edges; this surely sounds like a true delight! :D

    Reply
  2. You do like cookies! This is a very nice one! Wish I can have a bite :)

    Reply
    • Hey Zhul. Yup those are my favourite kind of cookies although I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t turn down any other kinds :lol:

      Hi Ellie. Yeah I do love my cookies, perhaps a little too much :D

  3. Were you Nespresso inspired by my father? =P

    Reply
    • Hey babe. Yup. Doesn’t hurt that it’s the exact same shade as my darling Kitchenaid. <3

      Anyway my brother's just as- if not, more- taken with it than I am, granted he did spend a good three hours at the store before proudly lugging it home. Every time he sees me, he greets me with "Do you want some coffee?" :lol:

  4. sarah

     /  November 17, 2009

    I am a tea and cookie lover myself but I am sure the espresso in the cookies goes with with a nice cup of joe!

    Reply
    • Hey Sarah. It does give the cookies quite a kick but if you’re not a big fan of coffee, try them without it- I’m sure it’ll still be pretty good :)

  5. happygrub

     /  November 19, 2009

    Laureen, that nespresso machine was supposed to be MINE!! U cheat! Hehe.. I’m so tempted to buy it online, free delivery!

    PS. u made me an online shopping monster after introducing me to Amazon. I’ve been buying loads of baby stuff online.. Diapers from China, legwarmers from local stores, nursing tops from Spring, sarong slings from momsinmind! My world will never be the same again.

    Reply
    • Haha. You know, Farhan, if we were neighbours, we could save a fortune on (the most gorgeous) kitchen appliances since we seem to own all the same things! Anyway, I know! I’m the devil’s advocate :oops: I’ve even got GT hooked on Amazon heh. Hana’s one lucky (and the most adorable) baby- can’t wait to see her in all her baby stuff!

  6. Mel

     /  December 24, 2009

    I adored these cookies and it would seem my family did too since they’re nearly gone already! Thank you for this excellent recipe.

    Reply
  7. You’re certainly most welcome, Mel :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

