Sweet Dreams Are Made Of These.

Peanut Butter Crispy Bars III

Multi-layer slices have always been a funny thing with me.

You see, I’m a bit of a fussy eater, in that I’m really particular about keeping most food separate while I’m eating them. Of course, if it’s a multi-component dish like pizza (mmm, pizza), lasagna or frosting with cake, I’m fine.

But if I could- without coming across as too much of a freak- I would ask that my double scoop of ice cream comes with one scoop in a cone and the other, a cup- I hate it that I inevitably come to a point where both flavours of my ice cream are mixed. You can’t pay me enough to eat a checkerboard cookie, gorgeous as it is, or buy one of those breakfast spread that comes with various spreads swirled together. And of course, when we’re eating out, GT knows better than to put food directly in my rice bowl or stir sambal into my bowl of mee siam although it doesn’t stop him from trying sometimes just to get a reaction out of me.

Peanut Butter Crispy Bars II

Having said all that though, there are a couple of flavour combinations I can never get enough of- like chocolate and peanut butter, peanut butter and honey, chocolate and mint, peanut butter and jam (are you seeing a trend here?). And this is exactly where these heavenly squares of chocolate and peanut butter slices come in.

The instant I caught a glimpse of the recipe, I was in serious lust.

As if the dreamy combination of a creamy peanut butter and chocolate filling and decadent dark chocolate icing wasn’t mind blowingly delicious enough, the addition of a crunchy Rice Krispies base took it completely off the charts. I mean really, if I had to rate these on a scale of one to hundred with one being the equivalent of the forkful of chocolate cake I had the other day that I practically had to down with two glasses of water and hundred being that insanely good, made on the spot caramel filled chocolate we had in Melbourne at the Food and Wine Festival last year that I would kill to have a lifetime supply of, this would be like, um, a hundred and twenty. They were that good.

Consider yourselves warned.

Peanut Butter Crispy Bars [adapted from Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito's Baked]

Peanut Butter Crispy Bars

Ingredients
1 3/4 cup Rice Krispies
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
3 tbsp light corn syrup
45g unsalted butter, melted

Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer
150g good quality dark chocolate
1 cup creamy peanut butter††

Chocolate Icing
90g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1/2 tsp light corn syrup
60g unsalted butter
1 tbsp Dutch-processed cocoa powder†††

  1. Line a 8″ square baking pan with aluminium foil. Grease the lined pan generously and set aside.
  2. Put the rice krispies in a large bowl and set aside. In a saucepan, combine the water, sugar and corn syrup over medium high heat. Bring the syrup to a boil and cook till the mixture reaches 235F.
  3. Removing the pan from the heat, stir in the butter and pour the mixture over the rice krispies. Mix them well and pour them into the prepared pan. Press the mixture firmly into the bottom of the pan and let the base cool while you work on the other layers.
  4. To make peanut butter chocolate layer Place the chocolate and peanut butter in a bowl. Set the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir till the chocolate melts and the mixture is smooth. Take the bowl off the heat and let it cool slightly before pouring it onto the cooled base. Place the pan in the fridge for about an hour or till the top layer hardens.
  5. To make dark chocolate icing Combine the chocolate, butter and corn syrup over low heat in a pan. Stir till the chocolate and butter melts and the mixture is smooth. Remove the pan from heat and sift the cocoa powder into the dark chocolate mixture. Stir till smooth. Pour the icing over the peanut butter and chocolate layer, spreading it into an even layer. Place the pan in the fridge for about an hour or till the top layer hardens. Makes about 20 tiny squares

† The original recipe calls for milk chocolate; I only had dark on hand which was just as well since the squares were still pretty rich
† Grease the measuring cup before spooning the peanut butter in- it makes getting the peanut butter out so much easier. Works just as well when measuring honey
† I added the cocoa powder for a darker, richer chocolate flavour and absolutely loved it

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I will try it out :)

    Reply
  2. YUM!

    im sure to try it out.
    it looks so good… and im sure it tastes great :-)

    Reply
    • You’re most welcome, percicilan. I hope you like them :)

      Hey Recipe man. I’m a bit ashamed of it but I polished off half that pan of deliciousness within two days :oops:

  3. Luxe

     /  March 27, 2009

    Haha i’m the same!

    I like all my food to be separated on my plate and then i can choose what i will mix with my rice for the next mouthful. This way you have different tastes with each bite!
    :)

    Reply
  4. Oh my goodness, that looks so rich! I’m taking your word for it, and have it bookmarked. I just need to get me corn syrup, and I’ll be good to go :D

    And what a cute quirk! I can’t believe you dnt eat checkerboard cookies ~hehe. For myself, I just like to disassemble my food. Like for those packed chicken rice, I like to separate the chicken, cucumber, rice far away from one another. And I *must* peel off each layer of kueh lapis kukus (steamed kueh lapis) when I eat them :P

    Reply
  5. Laureen,
    I agree with you totally. Some foods are better with their unique taste, while some are best when combined. However, I noticed the Peanut butter is always with Chocolates? I’m not a fan of fudge or bars or even squares. But your bar here, I cannot resist. I must really try it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply
  6. liz

     /  March 28, 2009

    as i always say babe, you’re killing me here.
    i finally have a use for that bottle of light corn syrup i have in the fridge.:)
    decadent! this should get me through the week don’t you think?;)

    Reply
    • Haha. Exactly, Luxe! Thank you for the affirmation- now at least I can rest assured that I’m not the only one with this “quirk” :D

      Hey Zhul. Heh i do the exact same thing with kueh lapis kukus as well as most sandwiched cookies. I just can’t eat them the way they come.

      You’re most welcome, Jane! I’m sure your twins would love them :)

      Hey Zebutt. Haha yeah this should definitely get you through the week. Just don’t feed them to your kids or they’ll be bouncing off the walls :lol:

  7. happygrub

     /  March 28, 2009

    Hey it happened again!

    We made something so similar its crazy! I made scotheroos which appeared on my gelato party post. Its a lil different though. The peanut butter is stirred into the rice krispies and the topping is classically chox and butterscotch chips.

    Your’s looks like a classier version!

    Mine were quite ugly la, I didn’t even bother photographing it!

    Reply
    • Hey Farhan. I just have to ask, are you stalking me? :shock: Seriously though, I just saw the picture of the scotheroos on your site and hell, do they look good!

  8. happygrub

     /  March 31, 2009

    Haha, I made them on Sunday night the 23rd, so if you made them later then technically you’re stalking me.

    Honestly I’m a little surprised we keep on making the same thing, perhaps this is evidence we’ve both been foodblog hopping like crazy our subconscious minds have been manipulated.

    I got the scotcheroo thing from David Lebovitz, and it was cos I needed to make something without eggs as I just ran out. And you know how baking is so limited without eggs.

    Reply
    • Haha I actually haven’t been surfing around food blogs much lately. Me thinks we’re just subconsciously telepathic ;)

      But fine, you’ve got me- I have been stalking you :lol:

  9. Holy Peanut Butter! These look seriously decadent! I’m definitely trying them!

    Reply
    • Hey Susan. They sure are decadent but that didn’t stop me from eating four of these in a shot :D

  10. these are gorgeous!! is it the corn syrup that makes the chocolate glaze so glossy? man.. now i have a serious craving for chocolate and peanut butter

    Reply
    • Thanks, K! Yeah it’s the corn syrup that gives the chocolate its shine. This may seem like a lot of work but it’s well worth it, I promise you- way better than Hershey’s Peanut Butter cups anyway! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

