C is for Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chocolate chip cookies. I don’t think i’ve ever heard an alliteration i like more.

I made these cookies for a scheduled night in with the girlfriends. Having not seen either of them since the start of the year, the plan was that we would have dinner at my place, catch a dvd before chatting till neither of us could barely keep our eyes open- basically our annual sleepover ritual.

Within hours of baking them the night before the sleepover, i walked into my parents’ room where the rest of the family were, eyes firmly glued to the television, only to find my what was originally full cookie jar depleting quicker than you could say chocolate chocolate chip cookies- not that i could blame them really.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies III

These huge chewy cookies, loaded with chunks of dark chocolate chips, were pretty hard to resist. The cookie dough itself, in all its glorious chocolatey-ness, looked so good i just had to swipe a bit straight out of the bowl. Between all my ‘taste testing’ and cleaning out the mixing bowl while the cookies did their thing in the oven, i was pretty amazed i even had the cookies to show at the end of it all.

After all that cookie drama (which ended up with me hiding the cookie jar and baking up another batch), it’s quite ironic that we hardly stuck to our plans.

We ended up heading out for tacos and margaritas and hitting a bar with a pretty good band playing. At least we did get to enjoying these both for supper with a bottle of wine and chips and a quick sinful breakfast the next morning.

***

Happy birthday, Singapore! 43 years- we’ve come such a long way. Here’s to more good years to come!

I’m especially excited this year- it’s the first time i’m in Singapore this time of the year in six years. Can’t wait to watch the Parade on tv tonight!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies [adapted from Carole Walter's Great Cookies]

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies II
Ingredients
225g semisweet chocolate, melted and kept warm
1 cup plain flour, spooned in and leveled
2 tbsp Dutch-processed cocoa powder
115g unsalted butter, slightly softened
1/2 cup castor sugar
1/2 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 tbsp hot water
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
340g semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

  1. Sift flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa powder into a medium sized bowl and set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat butter on medium speed till smooth and creamy for about 1 minute. Add castor sugar, then brown sugar, beating for 2 to 3 minutes till mixture is well mixed and slightly lighter in colour. Add in eggs, mixing well, followed by melted chocolate, hot water and vanilla.
  3. Gently fold in sifted flour mixture in two additions till just combined before folding chocolate chunks in. Chill cookie dough for at least an hour or till it firms up enough to be shaped.
  4. Preheat oven at 175C and line two baking trays with aluminium foil. Spoon teaspoonful of the cookie dough onto the prepared cookie sheets, leaving about 3 inches between them. Place the baking trays on the upper and lower thirds of the oven and bake for 10 to 11 minutes, rotating trays from top to bottom, front to back halfway through. The cookies will look a little underdone but they will firm up as they cool.
  5. Remove trays from oven and allow cookies to stand for a minute or two. Gently remove them from tray with a spatula and let cool completely on a wire rack. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container between layers of baking paper for up to 5 days. Makes about 50 cookies
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Oof, looking at how drool-worthy these look, I most definitely believe that C can only stand for chocolate chocolate chip cookies. I’ll be sure to teach my future kids that, courtesy of Aunt Laureen :P

    Reply
  2. Aww, i would be most honoured! C also stands for such wonderful things like crisp, coffee and cake. God knows what i’ll be teaching my future kids :D

    Reply
  3. Those cookies look awesome.let me at them..anything chocolate is good enough for me!!!

    Reply
  4. yup, never such thing as too much chocolate!! i’m craving cookies and a glass of milk right now!!

    Reply
  5. D is for delicious! You really can’t blame your family now can you ;)

    Reply
  6. Thanks, Susan! :)

    Hey Natalie, i share your sentiments exactly! These were sooo good with coffee.

    Hi Madeline. Haha yeah after i had a bite of the cookies myself, it was pretty hard to hold it against them. I would have wiped out the entire jar myself :)

    Reply
  7. I agree, the more chocolate the better!

    Reply
  8. I’m right with you, Maria! :D

    Reply
  9. Hi Laureen,
    I baked this cookie as a “giveaway” together with my CNY Cookies sales. Guess what? Everybody simples loves them!! They can’t get enuf of this! I think they prefer this cookie to my CNY cookies! Hahaha… Best part is, my kids can’t wait to lay their hands on them!! They kept pestering me to let them eat!! As I only make one batch (your full recipe), I won’t let them have too much until I have finished my “giveaways”! Thanks a lot for sharing this recipe, it’s really good. I love the CHEWY!! ;)

    Reply
  10. Hey Jane :) Aw you’re most welcome. I’m so glad your kids love them :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 808 other followers

